Hello!

This is my first blog ever, and I’m really excited.

I started a business from a hobby with two other Moms about five years ago, and our kitchens serve as our boardrooms when they are not not being used as high speed chase zones or toga party venues.  I’m sure there are many of you out there doing what we are… same situation, different product.  We’re all trying to roll with the changes and challenges: Economic fears, technological advancements, growth, juggling family, friends and business… Calgon! take me away. (But not too far, because there is work to be done and fun to be had!)

When any of the above changes occur, and our business needs some major attention in an area that we either A) need a lesson in, or worse, might need to go back to school for (yikes!), or  B) haven’t budgeted for, we look for resources right in our backyards.  I am always refreshed and very inspired by what we find.  Seek out and take advantage of what your community has to offer. It works best when it is a two-way street and both of you gain something of value from the experience.

One of the Top 5 things I did in the past few weeks is participate in our local Syracuse University’s Intern Fair.

I set up my company info on a nicely skirted table (thank you, SU),  I grabbed a coffee (thanks again!) and attended the pre-fair Internship seminar to learn about first-hand intern experiences.  A panel of other business owners, as well as a University rep, gave us guidelines for building successful relationships between student interns and business owners.  Communication is key; set reasonable expectations.

Once I had my expectations in check, I was confident that I was going to find a student who could help my partners and me take our business into a new, most important realm:  The Blogosphere.  I met 30-40 interested (interesting) students and gathered over 20 resumes from these extremely capable and talented students. Although they were all amazing, Tricia Ling stood out as a perfect match for HuePhoria as our Social Media Intern.  Did you know that Social Media is soon going to be a Major at many universities and colleges?

I will keep you posted on how it goes as Tricia teaches the Twitter-challenged…a lesson in Social Media.

Cheers!

Jen

